Loss, Failure and Life

A patient recently quoted the following he had heard, “The grief we feel is the price we pay for the love we share.”

Loss underpins the cycle of life in which we all take part. Life is all about being connected … this underpins the wholeness of Being … but the risk with this connection is suffering the loss of it in any form.

Recently, a patient with terminal cancer passed away and the grief his wife experienced was described as ‘numbing’ and ‘awful’. She tearfully told me that she couldn’t imagine living without her partner.

One of my favourite Rumi quotes: “Don’t grieve. Anything you lose comes round in another form.”

How do we learn this? Only through losses in our lives …  and becoming more aware of our connection to all that is … and living in that awareness.

I feel like I’ve failed in my attempts at becoming more aware – probably because I have thought that is is up to me, rather than being aware of the reality that I’ve always been connected. The illusion of being disconnected is the greatest sadness of our age.

I recently watched The Last Jedi and Yoda had the following wisdom “The greatest teacher, failure is.”

The realisation that experiencing life in abundance is intricately linked with failure and loss, is growing in me. Can we learn to suffer loss and endure failure with a hope for life in abundance? May it be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment